July 16th, 2020 COVID-19 Community Quarantine Extended until July 31

The Philippine Government extends National Capital Region’s quarantine measures under General Community Quarantine (GCQ) until July 31, while Cebu City's lockdown measures is eased.

July 8th, 2020 Philippine Government Opens Green Lanes for Seafarers

The Philippine government establishes a ‘green lane’ for seafarers in a bid to speed up the crew change processing. The special lane allows safe travel of seafarers subject to health protocols. It began operating last week, 02 July 2020.

July 6th, 2020 Philippines Tackles Crew Change Issues

The Maritime Industry Authority (MARINA) is now addressing crew change issues after the International Maritime Organization warned about possible safety issues.

July 3rd, 2020 COVID-19 Community Quarantine Extended until July 15

President Rodrigo Duterte extends quarantine measures across the Philippines until July 15. In a speech Tuesday night (June 30, 2020) Duterte said Metro Manila will remain under General Community Quarantine (GCQ) along with the provinces of Benguet, Cavite, Rizal, Leyte and Southern Leyte. The cities of Ormoc, Lapu-lapu, Mandaue, and Talisay are also under GCQ.

June 24th, 2020 COVID-19 Improved Online Process for Returning Filipinos to the Philippines

Returning Filipinos including overseas Filipinos workers (OFWs) have been instructed to fill out the electronic case investigation form (e-CIF) on the Philippine Red Cross website ( prior to their scheduled arrival. The order comes from Foreign Affairs Department and Philippine embassies across the globe in line with the government’s fight against COVID-19.

June 17th, 2020 IMSAS Audit Pushed Back, Philippine Preparatory Documents Approved

Due to the impact of COVID-19 pandemic, the IMO has decided that the IMSAS audits scheduled for 2020 to 2021 have been pushed back a year and are now to be conducted in 2022 and 2023, respectively.

June 17th, 2020 COVID-19 Community Quarantine Extended until June 30

Metro Manila will continue to be under General Community Quarantine (GCQ) until end of the month as decided by President Rodrigo Duterte during a speech Monday night, June 15.

June 8th, 2020 COVID-19 General Travel Restrictions by Country

As the fight against the pandemic continues globally, most countries are unceasingly trying to address and adapt to general travel, logistics and border restrictions of other regions as well as of their own. This is a major consideration which shipping companies are watching out for as the maritime industry struggles to continue its supposedly unimpeded service.

As of June 6, 2020, there are 137 countries that have completely restricted entry to non-citizens, while additional 66 countries have at least partial entry restrictions. With this in mind, Crossworld has consolidated top 10 regions where most crew changes are done and their general travel restrictions to provide as guidance for the gradual reopening of regional economies.